'The Roaring Silence' - Suicide Prevention publication coming soon!

‘The Roaring Silence’ – Suicide Prevention publication coming soon!

In Aotearoa New Zealand, this country, our home, suicide takes many more lives than the road toll. Yet for many years suicide has been shrouded in secrecy, both in our daily lives and in the media. Suicide has been positioned as a dark taboo too dangerous to discuss, or too shameful to admit to. At the same time, the problem of suicide has grown. Suicide crosses all age, gender, cultural divides and affects families, neighbourhoods, friendship groups, communities of interest.

The Roaring Silence is a community-led initiative and an aspect of the Depot’s philosophy of empowering the community to tell its own stories and find its own solutions. The Roaring Silence will be published soon with funds raised from the Escape Artists art auction. Special thanks to the artists involved, for their generosity in donating their work for the auction.

Read HERE for a North Shore Times feature on the publication and auction.

For more information on the publication, preorders or to register your interest please contact Amelia Harris at amelia.harris@depotartspace.co.nz or Linda Blincko linda.blincko@depotartspace.co.nz

Image: Grant Alexander’s ‘Damn Statistics’ 2016

With contributions from:

Aaron Kevin Croawell, Alexander Wright, Alice Tumblescribbleson, Allan McEvoy, Amethyst Caverhill, Anita Mary, Antoinette Ratcliffe, Ashton Brown, Bernie and Donna, Caitlin Smith, Chris McBride, Clara Chon, Colleen Henry, Dallas Gopi, Darly Royan Paraha, David Merritt, Deborah Alma, Elaine De Guzman, Eli Orsessek, Elizabeth Horsfall, Elizabeth Kirkby-McLeod, Erica Smith, Finola Scott, Gilbert Lawrence, Grant Alexander , Heidi North-Bailey, Hugh Wilson, Imogen Rogers, Irina May, James F Easteal, Jenny Laycock, Jodie Ancliff, Jude Galang, Judge Neil MacLean, Julia West, Jutta Humpfer, Karen Belk, Kay McGregor, Kiri Piahana-Wong, Kirin Cerise, Lauri  Lee In-Jung Shore , LIFELINE, Lily , Linda Jarrett, Linda Stevenson, Lyndsay Brock, Lynn Lawton, Manu Fotu, Marina Grey, Matthew Crookes, Matthew George Richard Ward, Mavis Gulliver, Melissa Fergusson , Miriam Barr, Mohamed Hassan, Nancy Brier, Natasha Lay, Nigel Brown, Paul Chapman, Qalina, Rangituhia Hollis, Richard von Sturmer, Robyn Gibson, Robyn Pickens, Rosie Whinray, Rozana Lee,Sam Orchard, Shaq Leota, Simon Esling, Sticks and Stones, Tanya Ruka, To’asavilli Tuputala, Vanessa Crofskey.